Stravinsky, Igor : The Firebird


Sold Out

- I Danse infernale de tous les sujets de Kastcheï

- II Berceuse

- III Hymne final

Igor Stravinsky's musical setting of the Slavonic fable of the firebird, L'Oiseau de feu, is one of the pioneering orchestral works from the beginning of the 20th century. Reviews of the first performance of the ballet at the Theatre National de l'Opera in Paris in 1910 lauded Stravinsky's “dazzling music in all shades of color” which was also described as a “glittering and bewitching phenomenon.” In 1911 and 1919, Stravinsky created two orchestral suites which can be performed as independent orchestral works. A further version followed in 1945 which has in part provided the basis for this arrangement for flute and piano.