Mendelssohn, Felix : Saltarello from Symphony No. 4


A masterful arrangement of the final movement of Felix Mendelssohn's beloved Symphony No. 4, commonly known as the "Italian" Symphony. The Saltarello is a dance in compound meter with origins in the Tuscan region of Italy, popular especially during the 15th century. Although the time signature chosen for this movement by Mendelssohn is common time (4/4), the compound meter of the Saltarello is implied by the constant triplets throughout the movement.


  • 6 C Flutes
  • 2 Alto Flutes
  • Bass Flute
  • Contrabass Flute